Thursday, August 27, 2015

Oakwood Park Golf Course, August 22-23, 2015
2015’s Arnold Walker Tournament will go down in the books as one of the best I’ve had the pleasure of running. Conditions were great, weather was almost great, competition was great, and I had a great handful of volunteers. First and foremost, I would like to thank PGA Pro Andy Gieryn and his staff for the wonderful job they did not only during the tournament but in getting the course set up for us. The greens were awesome and course conditions were very good. If you get a chance to use your winnings at Oakwood I would encourage you to do so. Many thanks go out to the wonderful volunteers who helped keep things running smooth. Lou Patscot, Jay Anosov, Ken Lauffer, Rich Luczkowski, Karen Luczkowski, and John Haeflinger were a huge help and I thank you all. A special thank you to Arnold Walker for his help on the course Saturday all day and part of Sunday. His tireless effort is an inspiration to us all. I would also like to thank my wife Michelle for putting up with the many hours it takes to make this event happen.

Congratulations to Champion Bruce Henning, and flight champions Mark Best, Tom Zeinemann, and Rich Luczkowski. Everyone who cashed will be mailed gift card good at any of the County Pro shops for merchandise.

Championship Flight – 21 players
Champion Bruce Henning 71-71 142 $130 & Plaque
2nd Robert Yurasovich 73-71 144 $100
3rd Michael Harris 71-75 146 $80
4th Rocky Sperka 73-77 150 $65
4th Steve Grusczynski 74-76 150 $65
6th Mike Fischbach 75-76 151 $50
7th Paul Koszarek 78-74 152 $40

A Flight – 26 players
Champion Mark Best 139 (net) $130 & Plaque
2nd Jerry Gitlewski 142 $83
2nd Gerry McGrath 142 $83
2nd Steve Wolter 142 $83
5th Jake Boulware 144 $60
6th Steve Jaeger 145 $40
6th Craig Mushinski 145 $40
6th Thomas Zellmer 145 $40

B Flight – 25 players
Champion Tom Zeinemann 137 $130 & Plaque
2nd Jack Bruss 141 $83
2nd Brian Pederson 141 $83
2nd Tom Wanta 141 $83
5th Dave Frederick 144 $45
5th Dan Gehrke 144 $45
5th Jeffory Klak **** 144 $45
5th Rich Saks 144 $45

C Flight – 22 players
Champion Rich Luczkowski 139 $130 & Plaque
2nd Wayne Wagner 140 $100
3rd William Lowe 141 $80
4th Joseph Gregorich 143 $70
5th Bob Hebl 144 $60
6th Jim Janicek 146 $50
7th Joe Maiorelle 148 $40

****Hole in one by Jeffory Klak Sunday on the 17th hole using a smooth 7 iron!!!!!

Finally, my big thanks to my boss Bob Witczak, GM of Stan’s Fit for your Feet for his time on Saturday showing some of the new styles of shoes available from your favorite salesman (ME!!!!) at the Brookfield and other Stan’s and New Balance stores. I will be letting the winner of the free shoes who won as soon as I know. I hope to see you all at my store so I can make your feet feel better!!!

Bob Freuck,
Tournament Director, MCPLA

Sunday, August 23, 2015

Results of County Champ

Here is the link again to the results for the Arnold Walker Tourney. Congrats to all of the winners.
Thank you to all the people that helped me run this successful tournament.
Bob Freuck

here is the link for the results and sundays tee times.

Wednesday, August 5, 2015

MCPLA August 4 Meeting Minutes

MCPLA Meeting Minutes
August 4, 2015
Currie Park National Club House

Meeting called to order at 6:30pm by Vice President Robert A. Cohn. In attendance were officers and directors representing the following
MCPLA clubs:

Brown Deer – 2 Currie – 3 Dretzka – 0 Grant – 2
Greenfield - 0 Oakwood – 3 Whitnall - 2   

Motion Made, seconded and carried to approve the minutes from the May 5, 2015 MCPLA meeting.

Treasurer: Ken Lauffer:
Operating Account $2,925.29
CAP Fund Account $17,294.07
The checkbook Is reconciled through August 2, 2015.
All received bills have been paid and all deposits made.
$3,030.00 has been transferred to the CAP Fund account from the Operating Account (this is $5.00 for each of the 606 MCPLA members).

1st Team: Mike O'Neil, MCPLA 1st Team Director:
Brief report regarding the 1st Team situation. Mike mentioned that
the recent 1st Team event at Oakwood was played in inclement weather following discussion/decision by the 1st Team captains to do so.
Final competition August 16 at Whitnall GC.

2nd Team: Brian Pederson, MCPLA 2nd Team Director:
Brief report regarding the 1st Team situation.
Final competition August 30 at Whitnall GC.

Tournaments: Bob Freuck, Tournament Director
Arnold B. Walker Championship August 22-23 Oakwood GC
MCPLA Worker's tournament October 11 Grant GC.
      Vice President Bob Cohn working on the details. Information to follow.
40th NIMAGA September 19 Evergreen GC
      Applications will be e-mailed to past participants and posted on
      the MCPLA web site.
WSGA Tournament will be held on September 21, 2015 at Wanaki
and Naga-Waukee .

Recap per Treasurer's Report:
Per agreement, John Haeflinger had $3,030.00 (606 members x $5.00) transferred from MCPLA Operating Account to the Cap Fund for 2015 contribution. As it was voted NOT to have the MCPLA Clubs contribute we will not go back to the Clubs. Next year MCPLA Clubs will be billed as in the past.

2015 Cap Fund request as discussed at meeting July 20, 2015 and attended by MCPLA members Ken Lauffer, Bob Cohn, Mike Reister and John Haeflinger. Also in attendance Chet Hendrickson and Jon Ccanavan on behalf of Milwaukee county.
      1. New tee box signs at Greenfield GC. Cost $12,769.00
          MCPLA requested to contribute $6,365.50
          Motion made, seconded and carried to approve the request.
      2. Brown Deer Patio and Cart Staging Area. Cost $12,731.00
          MCPLA requested to contribute $2,731.00
          Motion made, seconded and carried to approve the request.

New Business:
2016 Scheduling Meeting September 10, 2015 at the Currie National Clubhouse beginning at 6:30pm.

Attending directors encouraged to solicit their MCPLA Clubs for interest in running for MCPLA officer position for 2016 and to notify one of the current officers of such interest. The election will be at the October meeting.

Terry Winiarski: MCPLA event at Hidden Glen GC on September 21, 2015.
Commitments to participate are slow in coming forth. A brief discussion followed and MCPLA Clubs will be encouraged to acquire commitments soon as possible.

Motion made, seconded and approved to adjourn.

Respectfully Submitted,
Glenn Frohwirth, Secretary






The 40th Annual Challenge Match between MCPLA and NIMAGA will be held on Saturday, September 19, 2015, at Evergreen Golf Club in Elkhorn, Wisconsin. The Competition will be Match Play between teams from each Association. Details of the competition are set forth on the reverse side.

NIMAGA leads the Challenge Match Series 22 to 17. The 1987 and 1998 matches were halved. MCPLA won in 2001 and 2002, suffered a one point loss in 2003 and enjoyed victories in 2004, 2005, 2006, 2010, 2012, 2013 and 2014.

Please join a great team and help us bring home the trophy again this year.

John Haeflinger, Tournament Director

Click to open entry form